NYC’s Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

We spent Museum day live 2016 at The Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum ^.^!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ofcourse I forgot to take a picture of the ship without me in it LOL

Museum day live is a one day annual celebration of exploration and curiosity sponsored by Smithsonian magazine. Which means you can get a ticket for free admission for you and a guest! There are over 1000+ participating museums in the United States and 24 to choose from in NYC.

I remember driving past this ship when I was a child and I would just wonder what it was doing there.I didn’t know it was a museum at the time and never imagined I would be aboard it someday. I was just awestruck by the massive size of The Intrepid Sea, Air & Space museum. The first time I have ever stepped onto a warship. Decommissioned nonetheless.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Hull of the ship/museum

We arrived a bit after 12pm. There was quite a line,about a 40 minute wait because it was museum day. The minimum admission package is about $26+ per person.I saw a bunch of tourists buying tickets and I was like wow. I kinda felt like telling them they could get in for free but they had already handed over their money to the ticket agent 😦 Quite happy that we got in for free LOL.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Top deck’s planes 

The top deck has plenty of planes on display ranging from fighter jets, stealth planes and even helicopters. It was pretty darn cool. My favorite plane was actually the one with a smile and it was not weaponized! I think it was used for delivering something……I forgot 😦

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
My fave plane’s name is Sundowners

Look at that razor sharp smile!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
View from the top deck

Be sure to click –>here to check out my Intrepid museum and submarine tour video✈️⚓️

There’s also a submarine that you can enter and explore. It smelled so strongly of diesel even after all these years 😱

For more ❤️ below

World’s First Underground Park: Lowline 2020

Wood fired organic flour pizza at Smorgasborg

Grilled squid at Smorgasburg,Oh no you squidn’t!

 

2 thoughts on “NYC’s Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

Leave a Reply

